Blood Group Serology

Blood Group Serology

What is Blood Group Serology ?

Blood group serology, also known as blood typing, is the laboratory process of determining an individual's blood group. Blood typing is crucial in various medical settings, including blood transfusions, organ transplants, and prenatal care.

There are several blood group systems, but the most important and commonly used one is the ABO system, which classifies blood into four main types: A, B, AB, and O. These blood types are determined by the presence or absence of specific antigens on the surface of red blood cells and the presence of antibodies in the plasma.

Here's a brief overview of the ABO system:
  • Blood Type A: Individuals with blood type A have A antigens on the surface of their red blood cells and anti-B antibodies in their plasma.
  • Blood Type B: Individuals with blood type B have B antigens on their red blood cells and anti-A antibodies in their plasma.
  • Blood Type AB: Individuals with blood type AB have both A and B antigens on their red blood cells but neither anti-A nor anti-B antibodies in their plasma.
  • Blood Type O:Individuals with blood type O have neither A nor B antigens on their red blood cells, but they have both anti-A and anti-B antibodies in their plasma.
"Within the realm of serology, blood types become not just letters but the threads that connect us all, weaving the tapestry of our shared existence."

Apart from the ABO system, another significant blood group system is the Rh system, which determines the presence or absence of the Rh antigen (also called the D antigen). People who have the Rh antigen are classified as Rh positive (Rh+) while those who lack it are classified as Rh negative (Rh-).

In blood typing, various methods can be used, including the direct agglutination method, the gel column method, and the automated systems. These techniques involve mixing the individual's blood with specific antibodies and observing the agglutination (clumping) reaction to determine the blood type.

Here's a breakdown of the methods employed to determine blood types:
  • Slide Agglutination Test: This is the most commonly used method for blood typing. It involves mixing a drop of the patient's blood with different antisera (containing antibodies specific to A and B antigens) on a glass slide. Agglutination (clumping) of blood cells occurs when the corresponding antigen and antibody react, indicating the blood type.
  • Forward and Reverse Typing: In forward typing, the patient's red blood cells are mixed with known antibodies (anti-A and anti-B). If agglutination occurs with anti-A, the blood type is A. If agglutination occurs with anti-B, the blood type is B. If both occur, the blood type is AB. If there is no agglutination, the blood type is O. Reverse typing involves mixing the patient's serum (containing antibodies) with known blood cells. This confirms the previous results.
  • Microplate or Microtyping: Similar to slide agglutination, this method uses microtiter plates with small wells. Each well contains a specific antibody. Blood samples are added to the wells, and agglutination is observed under a microscope.
  • Hemagglutination: In this method, red blood cells are mixed with specific antibodies in a test tube. Agglutination indicates the presence of the corresponding antigen.
  • DNA-based Typing: Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) techniques can be used to determine the presence of specific DNA sequences associated with different blood types. This method is more accurate and can provide detailed information about rare blood types.
  • Blood Bank Testing: Blood banks often perform additional tests, such as cross-matching, to ensure compatibility between donated blood and the recipient. Cross-matching involves mixing the donor's blood with the recipient's blood to check for any adverse reactions.

It's important to note that these methods may vary slightly depending on the laboratory and the specific blood typing system being used.


Book an appointment with us

Working Hour

  • Monday 8:00-19:00
  • Tuesday 8:00-19:00
  • Wednesday 8:00-19:00
  • Thursday 8:00-19:00
  • Friday 8:00-19:00
  • Saturday 10:00-16:00
  • Sunday 10:00-16:00